From Sport, Arts, Culture & Recreation
Revision as of 14:26, 19 August 2019 by Calitzbf (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

On 16 August 2019 the Free State Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation (DSACR) in partnership with the Free State Sport Confederation (FSSC) presented the 2019 edition of the Free State Sport Awards to reward Free State sport stars for their efforts in keeping the passion of sport alive in the hearts of millions of Free Staters through their efforts in local, national and international sports events. The Free State Sport Awards were held at the Free State Rugby Stadium in Bloemfontein and were created to recognize and honour individuals and teams who have excelled both on and off the field.

The results for the 2019 Free State Sport Awards were as follows:

1. Administrator of the Year Chris Dednam Badminton
2. Sportsman of the Year Jakobus Dawid Barnard Archery
3. Sportsman of the Year with a Disability Tankiso Hata Table Tennis
4. Sportswoman of the Year Karla Pretorius Netball
5. Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability Louzanne Coetzee Para-athletics
6. Team of the Year FSSAPD Para-Cycling
7. Newcomer of the Year Raynard Van Tonder Cricket
8. Coach of the Year Rufus Botha Para-Athletics
9. Volunteer of the Year Mosoeu Mosoeu Table tennis
10. Indigenous Games Star of the Year Gregory Tsoai Dibeke
11. Photographer of the Year Celeste Klopper FSSAPD
12. Journalist of the Year Kgothatso Voight Mokone Mangaung Issue Newspaper
13. Federation of the Year FSSAPD Para- Swimming
14. School Team of Year Jim Fouche High School Badminton
15. Developing School Team of the Year Kroonstad High School Jukskei
MEC’s Awards:
16. Award of Excellence Gerda Steyn Athletics
17. Lifetime Achiever Award Mohotsiuwa Mathopa

Andre Vivier



18. Green Jacket Honour Dr. Hannett Bruwer

Peter Itholeng



19. Sports Star of the Year Karla Pretorius Netball

In her speech at this award ceremony Free State MEC for Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation Mrs. Limakatso Mahasa stated that, “Ours is to change the lives of all our sportsmen and women for the better. In this regard prize monies for recipients of tonight’s awards will no longer range from R2 000 to R5 000 but they will now range from R10 000 to R20 000 with the Sports Star of the Year receiving a cash prize of R25 000.” MEC Mahasa further stated that, “I am very touched by the commitment and dedication which is demonstrated by our sportsmen and women in the Free State. My greatest appreciation goes to all who sacrificed their time to celebrate with us, these include among others, MEC Gadija Brown, Speaker Zanele Sifuba, DG Mr. Ralikontsane and all distinguished guests who attended. We were united in building a sporting Free State and together we can do more.” Delivering the keynote address on behalf of the Free State Premier, MEC Gadija Brown also stated that, “This ceremony celebrates the best talent found in our province both at elite and community levels because when building an active nation, it is clear that no country can expect to achieve and sustain success at the elite level without a strong participation base in the community because that is where every champion has their beginning.”

Issued by the Free State Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation (DSACR)

Tankiso Zola
Director: Communication and IT
Cell: 082 940 2392
Tel: 051 410 4735/4821
Email: tankiso@sacr.fs.gov.za